Blanket squares 4 & 5

The blanket is slowly progressing and I’m learning lots in the process.

Square 4 was easy. Mock rib with garter stitch ridges square:Square 4

How I made it:

CO 27 stitches with 4.5mm needles.
Rows 1-4: Garter stitch.
Next row: (RS) Knit
Next row: P1, *k1, p1, rep from * to end.
Rep last 2 rows once more.
Rep last 8 rows until work measure desired length, ending with 4 rows in garter stitch.

Square 5 gave me grief though. Stocking Stitch Diamond:

Square 5

As you can probably see from the photo, it’s gone a bit tight in the area around the diamond. I wanted to change the yarn colours, rather than just using the swiss darn technique to add the diamond over the top, however I wasn’t very good at it. I unpicked this 3 times and got so frustrated with it, I ended bursting into tears. Sad I know – to be crying over knitting. My excuse was that I was feeling a bit hormonal anyway.

I eventually got it done, but it’s not brilliant. Oh well, practice makes perfect I suppose. There’ll be more of this sort of square coming up soon so I can have another go.

The pattern was:

CO 27 sts on 4.5mm needles
Row 1-5: Knit to end
Row 6: K3, p to last 3 sts, k3
Repeat rows 5 & 6 5 times more
17th row: K13, join in new colour and k1, pick up original colour, k13.
18th row: k3, p9, p3 in second colour, p9, k3
19th row: K11, k5 in second colour, k11
20th row: K3, p7, p7 in second colour, p7, k3
21st row: As 19th row
22nd row: As 18th row
23rd row: K13, k1 in second colour, k13
24th row: As 6th row
Repeat 5th and 6th rows 5 times more
Rows 35-38: Knit.

3 thoughts on “Blanket squares 4 & 5

  1. Wow that is going to look great! I know that when my friends and I want to send off a blanket from all of us this is what we do! I’t more special for all the hands that have made it! Can’t wait to see it done!

Leave a Reply

