Yarn sale

I think I’m becoming one of those knitters that just can’t resist buying yarn. Derry’s department store in Plymouth, which has the largest selection of yarn, was having 20% off today.

The Art of Knitting magazine this week has a pattern for a baker boy hat, which has a simple cable pattern (yet another new technique for me to learn!) and as I love wearing hats I really want to give this a go. So I went into Derry’s to buy a cable needle with a kink in it, and some Sirdar Click yarn to make it.

Sirdar Click Rustique

But I also spotted a lovely jumper that someone had made up and which was on display. The very friendly sales assistant saw me looking at it and helpfully located the pattern for me and pointed out the yarn that it was made with. And I succumbed… Yet another project to do. I must finish off my first cardigan though before I start this jumper.

Moonglow Crystal
This is the yarn for the jumper – Patons Moonglow in Crystal. Not sure if you can tell by the photo but it’s a sort of green/grey colour and has sparkly bits in it.

I also went into WHSmiths and bought a couple of knitting magazines: Knit Today (which was giving away some pins, needles and case to keep them in – I’m always a sucker for free gifts), and Simply Knitting.

Knit Today has the cutest patterns for farm yard animals. Definitely want to try the cows and sheep.

Leave a Reply

