Slippers and squares

I’m slowly adding the pile of blanket squares. Here are four more that I’ve done recently:

Squares 8 - 11

The yellow square is just reverse stocking stitch.

The blue square with the stripes, is just garter stitch for 6 rows, work 2 rows in different colour in garter stitch.

The other blue square is called reverse stocking stitch ridge square:
CO 29 sts on 4.5mm needles
Row 1: Knit
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: Purl
Row 4: Knit
Rep those 4 rows until it measure the correct length.

The white square was double moss stitch and I quite enjoyed this one.  It was nice to do something a little more complicated.  The pattern goes:
1st row: K1, *p1, k1, rep from * to end
2nd row: P1, *k1, p1, rep from * to end
3rd row: As 2nd row
4th row: As 1st row.
The blue bit is just some cross stitches embroidered over the top in a 1 3 1 formation.

I’ve also frogged the socks I’d started and knitted some slippers instead! These are ideal for me at the moment as, due to my broken leg, it’s uncomfortable to wear socks. The slippers keep my feet warm and aren’t tight around my swollen ankle. They are made with Sirdar Snowflake Magic – a sort of fluffy, self-striping yarn. It feels lovely on my feet, but I don’t like knitting with it particularly. I have to make extra sure that I’m not knitting too tight.

Slippers

(I’ve added a photo of the baker boy cap to my previous post if anyone’s interested)

2 thoughts on “Slippers and squares

  1. Oh my, I can see the swelling in that ankle. (the nurse in me comes out) I hope it isn’t causing you too much discomfort and I hope it mends quickly. The bright side is that you get to do lots of knitting!

Leave a Reply

