I can make button holes!

I’ve had quite a lot of time to work on the baby hooded cardigan this week and it’s coming along quite nicely. I did have one hiccup, in that I realised I’d misread the sleeve length and they were too long. So I unravelled and shorted one, and will do the other this week.

I sewed the shoulder seams of the two front pieces to the back in mattress stitch (I still can’t get over how nice seams can look with it!) and have started to knit the hood itself.

Cardi without its hood

My greatest achievement this week was making button holes for it though. I’ve never done them before and the instructions just said to rib 12, cast off 2 etc, then on the return row to rib 13 and cast on 2. As I wasn’t quite sure what I was doing, I turned to my faithful Knitters Bible and read up on button holes. They said that when you get to the point you have to cast on, to turn the work, cast on with the cable cast on method, and before you put the last loop back on the left hand needle, to bring the yarn forward, and this stops gaps.

And it seems to have worked. I have quite neat button holes which aren’t too tight. Yay me!

Button hole

3 thoughts on “I can make button holes!

  1. Your cardigan looks beautiful 🙂
    I’ve got two balls of wendy moiselle, and two of patons moonglow, all in blue, so am going to mix the two yarns to make a simple scarf I think. (I can’t think of what else to do with them!)
    Vik

  2. Hi Vicky, thanks for commenting on my blog. I don’t keep any stats about visitors, so I only find out about visitors if people comment.

    This is a lovely hoodie, the cable pattern sets it off very nicely.

    Penny

  3. I told you that you’d find a satisfactory way of seaming. Great affect hey! I always think I’m Xmas everytime I seam and it’s so little effort for such a great affect.

Leave a Reply

