I’m a published writer..!

A couple of months ago, in an issue of Simply Knitting magazine, they published a reader’s letter from an older knitter who was complaining about the modern patterns featured in the magazine. Included was a photo of her favourite 20 year old fair isle jumper which she still liked to wear and which she thought was a good example of the sorts of patterns that should be featured in the mag.

I was up in arms when I read it. I couldn’t think of anyone under the age of 60 would want to wear such a jumper these days! It was so old fashioned. Younger generations of knitters want to knit fashionable clothes that they want to wear. Magazines need to include modern patterns if young people are going to take up the hobby. So I immediately wrote to the magazine with my reply to this letter… and part of it was published this month (July 2007, Issue 30)! They even included a picture of my cardi that I sent with my letter.

My letter in Simply Knitting magazine

Not much actually happening with my knitting at the moment. I’m way behind on the blanket squares and still not finished Evie or the Blue elephant. My evenings have been taken up with meeting friends, band practices and gigs, and I’ve been doing a bit more work on my family tree, which I haven’t done for weeks. There just aren’t enough hours in the day to do all that I would like to.

Leave a Reply

