UK knitters: what do you think of yarn shops here?

I’d really like to start a discussion with any UK knitters about buying yarn here in the UK…

  • Do you find it easy or hard to source the yarn you need for particular patterns?
  • Do you find that your local yarn shop only has a small range of yarn or does it have a good selection of ranges and colours?
  • What do you think of UK online yarn shops?  Do they usually have what you need in stock?  How would you rate their customer service?
3 thoughts on “UK knitters: what do you think of yarn shops here?

  1. My LYS is a corner of the departmen store! It’s got hardly anything, which is unfortunate!
    I generally shop for yarn on Angelyarn but I won’t be anymore, because I placed an order over a week ago, that said it was in stock, but guess what?!? it’s out of stock! I need the wool because it’s going to be for a friend’s pressie and since I’m a pretty slow knitter I need to start it now! Web of Wool was a good online shop, but the postage costs were pretty high! But they delievered my order pretty quickly.

  2. That’s interesting what you say about Angelyarns as I’ve had a similar experience with them and wasn’t all that impressed with their custsomer service when we enquired about delivery. I’ve not come across Web of Wool. I’ll check them out.

  3. Questions in order.

    * Do you find it easy or hard to source the yarn you need for particular patterns?

    For Rowan and Debbie Bliss yarns, fairly easy. I’m close to a John Lewis that is well stocked with the Rowan and Debbie Bliss ranges. If I want more ‘exotic’ yarn (like Bergere de France or Lana Grossa), I have to order through my local LYS (not John Lewis). So overall, yeah it’s relatively easy. I can’t hate.
    * Do you find that your local yarn shop only has a small range of yarn or does it have a good selection of ranges and colours?

    For Rowan and Debbie Bliss a good range. Same with Louisa Harding, Bergere de France and to some extent, Lana Grossa.

    * What do you think of UK online yarn shops? Do they usually have what you need in stock? How would you rate their customer service?

    Get Knitted has good stock. Usually I get stuff within two days of paying online.

    I can’t say I like Angel Yarns though – but then they’re going own brand more than anything.

Leave a Reply

