Such a nice weekend :)

I had a lovely weekend and all because the sun was shining. When the sun shines, not only do I feel much more cheery, but it always spurs me on to getting stuff done.

I cleaned some rooms; I tidied my bedroom; I helped my friend with some computer problems; I ate BBQ food; I knitted and I gardened. It’s the first time that I’ve done some gardening in ages and the veggie patch was getting a bit out of control. I harvested lots of peas, beans, carrots and lettuce and planted more seeds in the hope that I might get another batch of salad veg before the summer ends. Sadly the tomatoes that were outside have gone rotten because of all the rain we’ve had and we didn’t get many potatoes either.

On the knitting front, I finished lots of blanket squares. It’s so satisfying to get things finished. I’ve got lots of projects I want to start, but I’m forcing myself to finish all outstanding projects before I start anything new. It’s so hard!

These squares are all straight forward and I’ve done the patterns before. Some needed blocking to try and stop the edges curling and I decided to try the steam method again, but just being careful not to get the iron too hot so that it doesn’t “melt” the yarn.

Squares 25-28

This square was interesting to do, and I actually like the pattern of both the right and wrong side. So I think that I will probably do another one in a different colour and just sew it into the blanket the other way up.

wavy rib square

Wavy rib Pattern:

Row 1: K1, *P2, K4, repeat from *, P1
Row 2: P1, *K2, P4, repeat from *, K1
Row 3: as row 1
Row 4: as row 2
Row 5: K4, P2, repeat this pattern
Row 6: P2, K4, repeat this pattern
Row 7: as row 5
Row 8: as row 6

One thought on “Such a nice weekend :)

Leave a Reply

