Knitting for others less fortunate

I recently mentioned how my friend wants me to teach her to knit, so that she can make some hats and scarves for Christmas boxes for underpriviledged children. I’m certainly going to help her with this, both teaching her and knitting a scarf or two myself. But it got me thinking about how else I could use my knitting skills to help others.

Two projects I’ve come across and thought I would mention are:

Both projects involve people knitting 7″ squares to be sewn together as an blanket. Gracious Parcels gives their blankets to Habitat for Humanity (who provide housing for people in need) and The Ghana Project sends theirs to crippled children in Ghana who are undergoing surgery. After visiting Malawi a few years ago, my heart goes out to Africa and those who are in extreme poverty, so The Ghana Project really appeals to me in particular.

Making squares doesn’t take long so over the next few weeks and months I’m definitely going to knit some squares for these projects.

On the Ghana Project website I was reminded of one of my favourite verses from the Bible:

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24.

I really must strive to apply this in all aspects of my life, not just knitting.

One thought on “Knitting for others less fortunate

Leave a Reply

