Quick knit: mp3 player pouch

My friend who’s hopefully, very soon, going to India to work for a few months has just bought herself an mp3 player.  It’s tiny – just a glorified USB memory stick really.  So I thought I’d knit her a little draw string pouch to keep it in.

drawstring pouch

I have to admit that whilst it is only simple – I ended up starting it over about 5 times, because I didn’t cast on the right number of stitches, used the wrong needle size, started ribbing but changed my mind.

I got there in the end though.  36 stitches on 3mm needles, just plain stocking stitch.

I was particularly pleased with the drawstring bit – not having done this before I just sort of made it up.  I got the idea of how to do the holes from the lace work on the baby cardigan I knitted a while ago.  Then Mum showed me how to crochet the yarn for the string bit.  So that’s another new skill I’ve learnt this week!

I took it over to my friend last night and she thought it was so cool!  I was really pleased.  It’s great knitting gifts isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Quick knit: mp3 player pouch

  1. I’m glad your friend liked it! My son is working to pay for his own MP3 player that is about the size you described. I wanted to make him a cover, do you recall how many stiches you cast on? what size needles? I suppose I could figure it out for myself, but now I can ask an expert!

  2. It was 36 stitches on 3mm needles. Quite thin yarn which was just from an odd ball in our stash. I then just folded it in half and sewed up the bottom and side.

Leave a Reply

