No yarn for me this weekend :-(

On Saturday Mum and I went to Exeter to the Creative Stitches show.  It was this time last year that I really started taking knitting seriously because it was from this show that I bought the yarn and pattern for my first cardigan.  Mum and I were really looking forward to a morning at the show and we were hoping that we might find some yarn bargains.

But it was really disappointing.  There wasn’t much in the way of yarn at all, well at least, not nice yarn.  There were a couple of stands selling huge balls of acrylic and eyelash yarn etc. and someone obviously trying to shift their stocks of Jaegar but nothing that took our fancy. I think there was much more in the way of fabric and quilting this year, as well as loads of stands for cross stitch.

We didn’t come home empty handed though. I bought some beads to make some earrings and we bought a kit to make some christmas decorations.  It was a nice morning out, even if it wasn’t a morning of yarn buying.

Blanket progress 

Here’s the latest on the blanket.  The squares were put together, sometimes using mattress stitch, sometimes using over-stitch, which results in less of a ridge on the back, but isn’t quite as neat on the front.  I love it though.  I keep looking at the block and admiring it.

Block of 9 squares

It needed a little bit of stretching and fiddling to get them to fit together as some squares were slightly bigger than others.  But hey – it just adds to the ‘homely’ effect, which suits the style of the blanket.

One thought on “No yarn for me this weekend :-(

Leave a Reply

