Square eyes!

Squares, squares and more squares. I’ve been doing lots of work on the blanket and sewing it into blocks of 9. However I realised that there are a few squares I’ve not blogged about.

Reverse Stocking Stitch with cross-stitch heart

reverse stocking stitch square with heart

I’d done the square itself ages ago, but not gotten around to doing the cross stitch motif. I’m not sure why but I kept putting it off. Anyway, finished it last night. This one didn’t want to block and I couldn’t stop the sides curling in. But once it’s sewn together with the others (it’s a centre piece) it won’t matter.

Moss stitch and diamond square

Moss stitch square with diamond

This is just moss stitch with cross stitches embroidered on afterwards. Didn’t get the quite centred, but couldn’t be bothered fiddling with it. I think it just adds to the character of the blanket anyway!

Dot patterned square

dot patterned square

I really like this one. It’s all stocking stitch but with the occasional white stitch. The pattern just told you to strand the white across the back, but there are 5 stitches between each white one, and I didn’t like the big loops it left you with, so I restarted it and wove the white in as I went along.

row 1: K
row 2: P
row 3: K4 in red, K1 in white, K5 red, K1 white etc. finishing with K4 red.
row 4: P
row 5: K
row 6: P
row 7: K1 red, K1 white, K5 red, K1 white, K5 red etc finishing K1 white, K1 red.
row 8: P

The magazine has given a more squares but they were just plain ol’ garter stitch or stocking stitch, so I’m going to look in my Debbie Abrahams blanket and afghan book and substitute them for something a bit more interesting.

Tomorrow, I’ll show you how the blocks are coming along.

Leave a Reply

