Having a less than successful day? Buy some yarn!

Saturday morning, I woke up fairly early, drew back the curtains and decided that I ought not waste the day. So I suggested to Mum that we go to the County Records Office to do a bit of research on our family tree. We’re a bit stuck with our Clarke branch from Exeter/Credition in Devon. It looks like one ancestor has just dropped his surname and started using his middle name as his surname. Very strange indeed and is causing us a big dilemma! We tried to read baptism records from the microfilm in the records office, but it was so hard to read. Barely legible. So we asked if it was possible to view the actual book itself and although slightly reluctantly, the officer brought us out the baptism record book for Crediton, Devon, which starts in 1796. How cool to be reading and gently handling a book that’s over 200 years old. It was much more legible than the microfilm, but didn’t help us to clear up our mystery sadly.

The office closes at 12:30 on Saturdays so we drove home, stopping off on the spur of the moment at Spin a Yarn – a yarn store half way home.  A purchase of 6 balls of Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino more than made up for the lack of success at with the archives!

Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino

I’ve been thinking about redecorating my bedroom and so will use this lovely soft yarn to make a new cushion for my bed.  In fact, after church on Sunday morning, I went across the road to one of the department stores and bought some new bedding which matches the colour of the yarn really well.  And the bedding was discounted by 50%!

The cushion is one of the designs from 25 Cushions to Knit by Debbie Abrahams.  Mum has recently completed another of the designs from the book for her bedroom and it looks great.

Saw this link to a stash on Ingrid’s blog and just had to write about it. It’s beautiful. It’s like how I’d imagine a yarn store would look like in a Pottery Barn catalogue!  I love Pottery Barn, but we don’t have one here in the UK.  Everytime I go to the States, I have to find a Pottery Barn and wander around, and take home a catalogue.  If I ever lived in the US (which I do think about doing from time to time when I’m fed up with the lousy weather and stupid politicians in this country) I would furnish my entire house with Pottery Barn things.  I just love their style.

2 thoughts on “Having a less than successful day? Buy some yarn!

  1. Hey Vic!
    It must be really really intersting studying your family tree! My great grandma did that, and discovered we’re related to Samuel Crompton, who ironically invented the spinning jenny! (I guess we’ve had fibre arts in the family!) Anyway she passed it down to my Grandad, who in his sentimental way threw it in the bin, never to be seen again! 😥
    Have you discovered really interesting stuff? Like.. some bloke went to jail for stealing a pig – that sort of thing?? That’d be so cool!
    Oh, meant to add – what’s the Pottery Barn??
    Sorry for long comment there! Vik

  2. Hi Vik,

    That’s cool that you’re related to the inventor of the spinning jenny. I remember learning about inventions like that in history lessons at school. Shame your Grandad threw the family tree away. My Grandad would have loved to have known about our family tree, but we didn’t start it until after he did. I really regret that. If you want any help on redoing your tree – just ask! I love playing detective!

    I have found out one ancestor was in jail three times in the 1840’s for stealing amongst other things. I think he stole a fleece if I remember correctly. I get the impression though that he wasn’t really a bad man, just trying to get some money to feed his family. Then again I could be entirely wrong!

    I also found out that I’m related to a young cabin boy who was the victim of cannibalism when he and his shipmates were lost at sea!

    And of course there are the usual “scandals” of illegitimate children and instances of children being born less than nine months after the parents were married 😉

    Pottery Barn is a home furnishings store in America – http://www.potterybarn.com

Leave a Reply

