I have been knitting

Really, I have. In fact everyday last week I spent at least a couple of hours knitting. But the cushion cover seems to be taking forever to grow. I’m half way through the front piece now and it’s been relatively plain sailing. I did make a couple of small mistakes where I purled and should have knitted, but I was so chuffed that I was able to fix these odd stitches without having to undo entire rows. Mum showed me how to take the stitch off and pick it up again the correct way around.

Was bored with the cushion last night, so whilst watching It Takes Two, Holby City and Spooks (a great evening of TV!) I did a couple more blanket squares with balls of yarn that came with the magazine a few weeks ago. The patterns they suggested in those two issues, were boring – yet another plain garter stitch square, and another reverse stocking stitch square with a star embroidered on.

Boring, boring, boring…

So I picked out two new patterns from the stitch library pages that come each week as part of the magazine. From what I can tell, these patterns aren’t going to be used in later issues as part of the blanket pattern, so I thought it would be nice to include them.

Zigzag Stitch

zigzag stitch

Offsetting purl stitches creates this zigzag effect.

Rose Stitch

Rose Stitch square

I chose this one because of the name really – Rose is my middle name and the name of my great, great grandmother, who was by all accounts a lovely lady.

Rope cable square

Rope cable square

Needs blocking – I know.  But you get the idea.  I like cables.

3 thoughts on “I have been knitting

Leave a Reply

