What’s the big deal?

Perhaps this is a bit controversial, but what is it about Interweave Knits magazine that knitters love so much?

I see knitters excitedly writing on their blogs that the next issue is about to come out and how there are some fabulous must-have patterns. But every season I go and take a look at what’s in the issue and think… why do people love these patterns? Most of them seem to be quite frumpy or old fashioned looking, and there’s rarely anything I would want to wear or know other friends/family would wear. There’s one pattern in the Winter 07 issue that isn’t all that bad, and would consider as a future project, but it would be way down on my queue of things to cast on.

I guess it’s good that we all have different tastes, otherwise we’d all end up knitting and wearing the same clothes. But it does surprise me the popularity of this magazine.

2 thoughts on “What’s the big deal?

  1. I totally know what you mean, a lot of the things I wouldn’t wear. But I love looking at rather wacky stuff that uses techniques I can’t do yet – it just inspires me even if I wouldn’t wear it. That’s weird isn’t it. I do like the layout and reading their articles though!

Leave a Reply

