The Starsky and Hutch cardigan

Well here it is… the finished item. My brother went back this afternoon to celebrate New Year with his girlfriend and other friends, so I grabbed a picture of it before he packed it.

Starsky and Hutch cardigan

The size was fine in the end… a big relief! It was quite a labour of love, but enjoyable nonetheless. He reckons he’ll wear it around at work (he’s a geologist and works in a University Geology department)! I’m sure he will, and I wouldn’t be surprised if some of his friends decide they want one too. They’re a mad bunch.

Update: Please don’t ask me for a copy of this pattern as I do not agree with photocopying or scanning other people’s patterns because this would be breaking copyright law. However I do plan on writing my own pattern for a similar cardigan – so if you would be interested in this, then do add a comment below and I will contact you when it is available.

28 thoughts on “The Starsky and Hutch cardigan

  1. I’m just amazed by your talent. The cardigan turned out wonderfully and it’s been a pleasure to watch it grow. Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

  2. please please do one for mee!!! its gorgous do u no where u can purchase cardigans like that you could make lots of money selling them xxxx

  3. Hi been looking for this style of cardigan for my partner for years, do you knit to order???? Its beautifully made—your fantastic–what a patient person you are—please email me if you do decide to do any to order–kindest wishes Sally

  4. MY WIFE HAS BEEN SEARCHING FOR THE PATTERN FOR AGES AND KOMS UP EMPTY HANDED ALL THE TIME .
    I WOULD LIKE TO SUPRIZE HER WITH THE PATTERN FOR THE STARSKY @ HUTCH JACKET .
    WOULD IT BE POSSIBLE TO GET THE PATTERN FROM YOU.
    LET ME NOW IF THERE IS A COST INVOLVED THANKYOU.
    YOURS RESPECTFULLY BARRY.

  5. Just wondering where did you get the pattern for this from, looks fantastic,
    Regards Pat

  6. hi everyone, if anyone is still wanting a knitting pattern for the Starsky style cardigan, i have one. let me know and i could sell this to you.

  7. Hi, I am looking for the pattern if possible or a version of it, I’ve been after a Cardigan like the above for ages!

  8. Whenever you’re able to let me know about the pattern I’d really appreciate it. Or if I can buy it now from somewhere.

  9. been looking for ages for this style/pattern cardigan.shawl neck,3 quarter length,knitted belt.class.do u knit to order or just supply patterns?regards john

  10. Dear Vicky,

    We are a couple from the Netherlands.

    We were looking a long time for a Pattern of a starsky and Hutch Cardigan

    Twenty five years ago my husband has a Cardigan from Starsky and Hutch but through the years the cardigan getting older and he had to throw it away.

    this year my husband will be 50 years old and he’s having a little bit of a midlife crisis so I want to surprise him because I want to make him a new Cardigan from Starsky and Hutch so he could go one more time back to his childhood.

    But I can’t find a pattern of this Cardigan so I found you on the internet.

    I’ve callt several people in our neighbourghood but no one has a cardigan like I saw on your site.

    That is why I ask you if you had a pattern for me so I could make this Cardigan from starsky and Hutch for him.

    If that is oke with you could you send me a pattern of this Cardigan or tell me a link where I can find this pattern.

    You are really are our final hope please could you response at my mail and help us.

    with kind regards,

    Marjo van Leeuwen

  11. @ John Stephenson – I’m afraid I don’t knit to order and my own version of the pattern in not available as yet. I hope it will be sooner rather than later – so keep an eye on my blog for an announcement.

    @Marjo – Again, I’m afraid I don’t have a pattern available. I got my original on eBay so it is worth having a look there.

  12. Please can someone help me I have been looking for a pattern for the 5753 starsky and hutch cardigan and can’t find one anywhere.

  13. Mandy I have the original sirdar patten 5753 which my mother bought in 1975. Am happy to send you an e-mail scan if you want.
    Regards
    Stuart

  14. Stuart, I have been searching for an original Starsky pattern for ages without any luck. If you would be kind enough to send me an e-mail of the 5753 pattern I would be delighted! If you can’t, then don’t worry, but just incase you feel like making someone’s day, then my e-mail is g.winchester@bbmax.co.uk. Many thanks either way!

  15. Hi All
    I dont knit but my partner is also wanting a Starsky Cardi – surely someone somewhere must sell them!!! I did find one place abroad at a cost of about £200 but needs to be a bit cheaper than that!!
    Reading all your emails, there def seems to be a market for it!

  16. Hi again
    In case anyone is interested the site is Donkas Knitwear based in Bulgaria!! £200 Euros not pounds and exact replica if you compare it to the photos of PMG x

  17. i have the original cardigan and its up for sale send me a price
    sylvia

  18. cool caridgan could you send me the paturn you are making when its done please

  19. I have the original pattern, please just leave your e-mail address on the site if you’d like me to send you a PDF
    Regards to all
    Stuart

Comments are closed.