Needles of the knitting and sewing variety

The teddy bear continues… All the body parts have now been knitted and he had a body, legs and arms, but the head pieces are still being sewn together.  I had hoped to have him sewn up completely by the end of the weekend, but other events took up my time… namely some sewing!

Yes, I sat in front of a sewing machine, took deep breaths and helped my Mum to make a cover for my new headboard on my new bed.  Even though I saw a swatch of the colour, when the headboard actually arrived, it was much too yellow for the colour scheme in my room, so Mum suggested making a cover from some spare material she had.

I really have to learn how to sew, so I asked Mum if I could “assist”.  We had to make it up as we went along, due to the fact that the headboard isn’t just a rectangular block and it was a bit tricky in places. I didn’t do an awful lot to help Mum, except sew where she told me too.  But I’m still determined to learn to sew.   I definitely don’t have the brain of a someone who sews, but maybe it will come in time.  It did with knitting.

We got my old sewing machine down from the loft, which hasn’t seen the light of day for about 20 years and it still works.  I might just get it serviced anyway and then I’m going to endeavour to make some bags. I figured they are just rectangles of various sizes – can’t be too difficult a project to start with, can it?
Mum reckons that quilting/patchwork would be good for me to practice too, but you have to be so precise with measurements and cutting and seaming etc, I’m not sure that I’m up to that yet.

If you go wrong with knitting, you can just unravel it all and start again.  But if you cut material incorrectly, you’ve had it.

It scares me.

Leave a Reply

