Starting… but not finishing

I think I’m getting a bit of a reputation as a knitter who never finishes anything!

Yesterday balls of Rowan Shimmer and Rowan Kidsilk Aura arrived for the shop and not convinced that I’m going to like Ingenue or that it will actually fit, I decided to start knitting Sparkle Bolero from Studio 17.  It’ll be ideal for Christmas festivities.  So I cast on at Knit ‘n’ Natter last night.  After all, I do need to get on with it if I want to wear it soon.  You knit it by holding a strand of the Shimmer and a strand of the Aura together.

 

rowan sparkle bolero
Sparkle Bolero from Rowan Studio 17

But a fellow knitter turned to me last night and said I’m always starting something she’s not seen anything I’ve finished for ages.  I suppose that’s true.  (She, incidentally, knitted an entire lace shawl from pure silk in a single week and it was stunning!)  I’ve not finished much this whole year really.  I think that I ought to make it my main objective to get everything finished by New Year’s Eve.  So that means sewing up ALL of the Scandinavian blanket squares, finishing Ingenue, finishing the possum hat I started last Christmas, knitting something for my brother for Christmas and of course finishing the bolero I started last night!

I’ve got 7 or 8 weeks I guess.  It CAN be done!

Knit ‘n’ Natter was great last night.  A real buzz was happening. I learnt a new technique too.  I’ve always avoided bead work because I can’t be doing with threading hundreds of beads on the yarn at the beginning and then shuffling them along.  However someone showed me how to thread the bead on using a fine crochet hook, at the point where you want to place it.  Dead easy and much easier. I’d really like to try something with beads now.  Perhaps a lacy scarf with occasional beads to give it a bit of sparkle.  I think there’s one in Little Luxury Knits which would be nice… Hmmm… Another project…

One thought on “Starting… but not finishing

  1. Hehe, good luck with your finishing marathon! I tend to be pretty good with not having too many UFOs kicking around, because I really want to wear what I am making. I don’t think I’ve ever had second sock syndrome. Project oriented? Moi? 😉

Leave a Reply

