The Art of Crochet

Regular readers of my blog will know that when I first got into knitting, I collected the weekly partwork magazine The Art of Knitting.  Well that series has finished now and the publisher have just started publishing the Art of Crochet instead.  That’s excellent timing as I one of my aims for this year is to get good at crochet.  I wasn’t the only to see this magazine – a couple from Knit and Natter bought the first issue too.

the art of crochet

Just like with the knitting magazine, you get a ball of yarn each week and the instructions for knitting a blanket square.

There are the first two squares:

I can’t get the hang of holding the yarn in my left hand and the hook in my right.  I just can’t seem to control the yarn as it runs through my fingers. So I hold it in my right and wrap it a bit like you do when knitting English style.  My tension is quite loose when I crochet and I had to pull tight to make sure that these squares turned out the size they were meant to.  But these squares don’t look too bad.  I don’t think I’ll be collecting the whole series, but I’ll buy them for a few weeks to give me some crochet practice.

8 thoughts on “The Art of Crochet

  1. i missed the second issue I was wondering if you could put up the instructions for the pink square or email them to me

  2. Hiya,

    I have been collecting the Art of Crochet too and have now after recieving issue 30 😮 have finally found the time to getting around the having a go. I was wondering if you could help me out a little though please?

    I can’t find the original hook that came with issue one and I have tried to contact Hacette but no reply 😦 I don’t want to use the wrong size for the weekly squares throw or I might not end up with enough woolleft over. Can you please let me know the size of the hook used please? Thanks do much for your time 🙂

Leave a Reply

