FO: Felted Tote Bag

For Christmas I was given a big hank of Fleece Artist Bluefaced Aran yarn which came with a pattern for a felted tote bag called Toto.

It was a really quick knit – just a few evenings.  I wish I’d taken a “before” photo, but I forgot.  I was just too keen to get in the washing machine to felt it!  I had it in the machine for half an hour on 40 degrees and was very happy with the amount of felting.  I didn’t want to over do it and as a result it is still quite soft to the touch.  Sometimes felted items can get a bit too stiff for my liking.

In doing this bag, I learnt how to do provisional cast-on and an interesting technique for joining on the handles.  You keep the stitches on the ends of the handles and the spots where they’ll be attached live on a stitch holder.  Then to attach them you slip the stitches alternately onto a single needle.  Then you simply slip two, and pass the first stitch over the second, slip another one, and pass the first stitch over again – a bit like casting off.  It was a really neat join and I’ll definitely try and remember this technique for the future.

Leave a Reply

