Possum Tales: Kauri Aran

I was recently sent some samples of a variety of Zealana possum yarns by the European distributor Lanamania. A couple of Christmases ago, Mum gave me 200g of possum yarn and I love it. I bought some possum scarves and gloves when I went to New Zealand a few years ago and it’s such a warm and comforting fibre. So I was quite excited when I opened the package.

This evening I decided to knit up a swatch in one of the samples called Kauri. It’s a 10ply Worsted (Aran) yarn made from 60% merino, 30% possum and 10% silk.

It’s created a lovely light fabric. It doesn’t feel itchy and isn’t too fluffy. I can just imagine using it make a big winter cardigan.

I’m seriously considering stocking it in the shop. There isn’t much specific pattern support, but the swatch I’ve just knitted gave me a perfect tension for an aran yarn: 18st x 24 rows on 5mm needles. So it could be substituted easily enough.

2 thoughts on “Possum Tales: Kauri Aran

Leave a Reply

