A Sunday afternoon sewing project

The Sunday before last, I had a little bit of spare time (quite rare at the moment!) and I did a spot of sewing… this time I made myself a new apron 🙂

My Mum had made one recently which I really liked and so I decided to make a similar one. Hers is brown with a cream colour pocket, mine is blue with a brown pocket.

The fabric I used is some canvas fabric from Moda’s Pure collection by Sweetwater

apron made from Moda Pure canvas fabrics

My apron

It was extremely straight forward to make. I already have a plastic apron which is just the right size, so I laid it on the fabric, cut around it to get the shape, folded over the edges and sewed all the way around, including a neck strap and waist straps at the appropriate points.  The pocket was just a rectangle, top-sewn onto the middle of the apron.  It didn’t take me long to do.

I like it so much though, that I don’t want to wear it, in case I get it mucky!

One thought on “A Sunday afternoon sewing project

Leave a Reply

