FO: My first pair of gloves

One of the knitting challenges I set myself a while ago, was to knit a pair of gloves and I’ve finally done it!  It didn’t take long actually – about 4 evenings I think.

knitted gloves

The pattern was an old Robin pattern that Mum used to use many years ago.  The gloves are knitted on two needles and each finger has to be seamed as does the side of the glove.  Initially I was worried about having seams and whether it would be uncomfortable, but actually I can’t feel them.

I think that I made a couple of the fingers slightly too short on the first glove I did, but it’ll probably stretch.

The yarn I used was Mirasol Hacho, which I was given last Christmas.  It was nice to use some stash yarn.  Speaking of which, my next project that I’m dying to get started will be using up some Debbie Bliss Merino Aran that I have in my stash.  It’s a lovely dark green colour, and I had started using it for a jumper from Custom Knits.  However I didn’t really like how the jumper was turning out, so I frogged it.  This next project is a short sleeved cabled hooded jacket.  I’ve been wanting to do one for ages, but hadn’t found quite the right pattern/yarn combination.  Mum remembered that I’d saved this particular pattern from an old copy of Knitting magazine and it’s perfect both in style and in the type of yarn. I can’t wait to cast on.

But my brother has also asked me to knit him a scarf for Christmas.  For the past few Christmases, since I’ve always knitted him something. However this year, I’ve been so busy that I hadn’t really given it much thought.  I wasn’t sure that he really liked me knitting him things.  But on the phone the other day out of the blue, he asked “is it difficult to knit a scarf?”.  “Nooooo….why?”  I replied.  “Well… I would quite like a new scarf”.  How could I refuse?!  He wants a green and white striped one because he can wear it to support both rugby and football teams.  I always think that a ribbed scarf is nice for men, but I think he just wants it stocking stitch and the two colours in large sections, rather than thin stripes.  Just need to find the right shade of green.

Leave a Reply

