The Big Knit Show (Knit Expo)

This morning I popped along to Knit Expo’s Big Knit Show in the Corn Exchange in Exeter.  I went along to their show earlier this year and wasn’t all that impressed.  However I think they listened to feedback and this show was much better for being in a new location.  The Corn Exchange is a much bigger hall with better light.  There were a lot more exhibitors there this time too.  In fact I had been considering having a stall myself, but with so much going on at the moment workwise, it was just too much to attend another show.

I did get to speak to Jeni from Fyberspates in person (we’ve only spoken on the phone or by email previously) which was nice. Claire Crompton was there too, as was Gillian Morris.  In fact there were a good number of different stalls including The Little Wool Company, Atomic Knitting stitch markers, Felt Folk, Village Yarns, Devon Fine Fibres, The Wool Sanctuary and many more…

I might very well have a stall next time they do this show.  I’m sure they’ll repeat it as it seemed to be well attended.

As a customer though, I didn’t like having to pay £3 entrance to get into it.  But I suppose you have to do that for the Creative Stitches show at Westpoint and that’s more than £3. But your £3 doesn’t get you much, other than the opportunity to buy stuff, or sit in the cafe area and knit, or watch a knitting DVD that was being played in another room.  There were going to be some workshops and classes but there would be extra.

Leave a Reply

