Zealana Rimu DK Possum Yarn Review

I love possum yarn.  Ever since I went to New Zealand and bought a possum scarf for my Mum, I’ve been astounded at how soft and warm it is.  This evening I’ve just knitted a swatch of Zealana’s Rimu DK yarn which is 60% merino and 40% possum. I don’t think you’ll find a yarn that has more possum content than this – I’ve not seen one anyway.

I knitted the swatch on 4mm needles and got 20 stitches to 10cm, rather than the usual 22 sts you’d expect with a standard DK.  But that’s easily fixed with a different needle size.

Zealana Rimu DK

The swatch feels almost silky, it’s so smooth and I know would be super warm if were knitted into a garment or hat/scarf/gloves.  It’s quite a thick DK – if you know what I mean.  The knitted fabric feels quite solid, so I don’t think it would be so good for a delicate garment. But I could image a nice jacket or pullover.  I just had a look on Ravelry to see what people have made with Rimu DK and it’s mainly accessories such as cabled scarves or berets/hats or mitts.  I did see however a striped jumper made with Rimu and Noro Silk Garden.  It looks like two rows of Rimu in a dark solid colour and two rows of Noro, so that colour changes really stand out.

Rimu also comes in a Fingering/4 Ply weight.

I’ve got a laceweight possum yarn sample that I’m going to knit up next.

3 thoughts on “Zealana Rimu DK Possum Yarn Review

  1. This Rimu merino/possum blend is lovely. I have not knit with it, but I just saw it for the first time in a shop while visiting my hometown in Canada. The colours are beautiful and it is so soft. I look forward to trying it with a scarf or mitts. It looks and feels like it would be really warm.

Leave a Reply

