A Day out to FibreFest 2011

Well, it was supposed to be a Knit ‘n’ Natter group outing, but in the end everyone dropped out for one reason or another, and I think they missed out on a pretty good day.

Mum and I decided that we’d still go to FibreFest, at Bicton College near Exeter, as never having been in previous years, I really wanted to see what it was like.

As we walked in, there were small tents and pens where livestock owners were selling fleece from their own llamas, alpacas and sheep. We also watched an alpaca shearing demonstration.

fibrefest alpacas

alpacas alpacas

Beyond this area, were the trading stalls both in one of the buildings, and in marquees

fibrefest fibrefest

fibrefest fibrefest

fibrefest fibrefest

The weather was glorious today and Mum and I sat and had our lunch looking over the lake.

Bicton College

And of course, we didn’t leave empty handed.  Mum bought some skeins of baby alpaca from Alandale Alpacas (Fleecewitch), plus a couple of patterns for a cardi and lace scarf.  There were some textile artists there and I got some postcards and cards of their artwork.  If I was a spinner, then it would have been great as there was a lot of lovely raw fibre for spinning. Mum also bought a broomstick, to do some broomstick crochet which we saw being demonstrated!

broomstick crochet

We wanted to take home an alpaca with us (they were sooo cute) but as that wasn’t really possible, I bought this one instead:

Harry the Alpaca

I noticed that a lot of people were selling peg looms.  I guess it’s quite popular at the moment.  Maybe I should have a go?  😀

Anyway, a lovely day was had and I wish I didn’t have to go to work this week as I’m really in the mood for weaving and knitting right now!

Leave a Reply

