Fingerless gloves… the search for the perfect pattern

I have a pair of fingerless gloves, which have a little flap to turn them into mittens, that my brother gave me for Christmas many years ago.  I love them, but they are starting to wear thin in places, so I started thinking about knitting another pair of fingerless gloves (not necessarily with the flap though).

I also decided that I will knit a pair for my brother for Christmas this year.  So the search began for a pattern.

For my pair, I decided to use some cashmere yarn that I got from Devon Fine Fibres.  It’s a 4 ply yarn.  I have a book called Holiday Knits: 25 Great Gifts from Stockings to Sweaters that had a pattern I thought might be suitable.  So I merrily cast on and began knitting.  You know though when you get part way through some knitting and you start to have a sinking feeling that it’s not going to fit… well I started to get that with these gloves.  I kept going though… as you do… hoping that everything will be ok.  I was trying it on as I went, and the doubts still niggled.  I started to do the fingers and then tried it on again.  The fingers were going to be fine, I could tell, but it was just too long and baggy around the wrist and didn’t look very good at all.

So I frogged it.

I then found a pattern called Semplice Fingerless Mitts (via Ravelry) on the Knit Picks website for a basic fingerless mitt.  It looked like a good basic pattern and so I started again.  The shaping all looked good as I went and I thought it was going to turn out great.  However I made a fatal mistake.  The pattern calls for a Sport weight yarn and what was I using? A 4 ply.  The glove was coming out too small!

So that was frogged.

Now a few weeks ago Mum, Dad and I popped up to Bovey Tracey.  We went to the Devon Guild of Craftsman and to Spin a Yarn.  Mum bought a ball of Lang yarn and got a free pattern for a pair of fingerless mitts.  Why didn’t I just use this pattern to start with?  It’s great!  The gloves fit really well and haven’t taken me too long to knit.

 

One thought on “Fingerless gloves… the search for the perfect pattern

  1. That is a nice pattern! I made a pair when I first started knitting and they weren’t ribbed at the top, they were stockinette. So they rolled. The gift recipient never wore them… Maybe I’ll redo the gift now, years later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

