Back to inkle weaving

I’d tried and failed to learn how to do the pick up method to make some more interesting inkle bands, despite downloading various tutorials. So I pre-ordered The Weaver’s Inkle Pattern Directory from Amazon, which a number of people on Ravelry were eagerly waiting for.

It’s written by Anne Dixon who is the author of the very popular Handweaver’s Pattern Book: An Illustrated Reference to Over 600 Fabric Weaves

It was finally released and delivered a few weeks ago and this week I opened it up and sat back in front on my inkle loom.

I still had some Rico Essentials Cotton yarn from my previous band, so to get back into the grove I thought I would try a simple pattern from the book and it looked terrible. I couldn’t understand what I was doing wrong, but it was looking like a normal balanced weave that I might do on my rigid heddle loom, not a warped faced weave. I did my first band fine, so don’t know why I was struggling with this one. I did wonder if it was partly down to using a DK yarn which is quite thick. I posted a question on Ravelry about it and was told that I probably wasn’t pulling it in tight enough.

So last night I had another go and the poster was right. I pulled it all much tighter and it started looking much more like it should.

20120829-142052.jpg

I’m still not completely happy with the thick yarn, so I’ve ordered some finer yarn from The Handweavers Studio in brown, red and white, to try some other designs.

I was telling my boyfriend about it and he wants me to take the loom over to his house this weekend. He fancies trying to make a loom and if successful, it could be a product for me to sell in my shop.

Leave a Reply

