My Wedding

Well I’ve been back from honeymoon a week now and I can honestly say I’m rather enjoying married life. 🙂

Our wedding was 3.5 weeks ago and it was just the most perfect day. God was good to us and gave us a warm and sunny day and everything went very smoothly, despite a slightly busy few days beforehand finishing the cake and last minute preparations.

holding hands
Do you like the colour of my bouquet? I loved it!

My husband (it feels very funny to be saying that!) also had a couple of romantic surprises for me. Firstly, I was expecting to walk down the aisle to a CD track of Gabriel’s Oboe by Morricone, but he’d booked a professional violinist to play that and other music before, after and during the service and I heard her playing as I stood at the church door.

Then after we’d cut the cake and were going to do our first dance, my brother picked up his guitar to join the band and my husband stepped up to the microphone to sing the first verse of “our song” (Everything by Michael Bublé) before stepping back on to the dance floor and dancing with me.  I had no idea he and my brother had this planned!

He’s a pretty amazing man!

Now it’s time to return to earth. My husband has left his job and has started working with me in the business. He’s learning lots about knitting and sewing!

Sadly there were no knitted related items at the wedding. I had planned to knit my wedding garter using this pattern on Ravelry and I did start it, but time was getting on and a friend gave me a ready-made one as a pre-wedding gift, so I just wore that instead. I don’t know anyone else getting married otherwise I’d carry on and finish the one I started.

We’ve just moved into our new house and there is a fair amount of redecorating to do etc. I am looking forward to making some new furnishing, perhaps some cushions for the living room and I do plan to make a quilt for our bedroom. I also need to start stash busting my wool. The house is quite small and I don’t have a lot of room for all my craft things, so it’s time to start using it up a bit.

I think I will start off with knitting a hat using a pattern called Urchin by Ysolda Teague and hank of Fleece Artist yarn from my stash. I haven’t done any knitting for ages and I’m hoping to find my mojo again.

2 thoughts on “My Wedding

Leave a Reply

