Knitted Beards!

A friend of ours turned 40 yesterday and my husband suggested that as a present, I knit our friend a beanie and beard! His business means he spends most of his day outdoors, so the idea is that it will keep him warm – chin and all!!

The beanie hat part was knitted with some Rowan Cocoon that I had in my stash and the pattern I used was the Cozy Ribbed Hat from Ravelry. It was quick to knit and looked a good shape when worn.

james-tall-beanie

The beard was knitted in some red Sirdar Funky Fox and I used the Rather Fun Knitted Beard pattern from Ravelry. I don’t particularly enjoy knitting with eyelash yarns, but it was fine to do.

james-tall-beard

I then attached a piece of cocoon through each end of the beard and tied it to the inside of the beanie, so our friend could remove the beard and still wear a nice beanie after the initial laughs!

james-tall-beanie-beard

It was nice to complete a project within a week!

Now it’s back to the poncho. I thought it was nearly finished but I think it needs to be bigger still.

Leave a Reply

