My 8th Blog Anniversary

Happy New Year! I hope you have had a good holiday season. Today is the 8th anniversary of starting this blog!

As I write this I am relaxing at home, enjoying the end of our Christmas holidays. We decided to close the shop until 5th January as we’ve not had any time off since last Christmas and we needed a decent break.

Christmas was lovely. It was busy beforehand with several services at church in the days preceeding and last minute shopping etc but the day itself was peacefully spent with my family, eating a delicious roast turkey and all the trimmings. I made the family Christmas cake this year too.

christmas cake 2014

I was thoroughly spoilt with presents this year and of course there was a crafty type present or two… This year a bead loom and some seed beads from my Mum, plus a book of hat knitting patterns from my husband.

My husband also bought me some gorgeous little heart shaped beads which reminded me of the design we had on our wedding stationary etc. He thought I could make some stitch markers with them.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2ca/767958/files/2015/01/img_2020.jpg

He’s so thoughtful when it comes to presents. I’m useless at thinking of special ideas! I didn’t knit or sew any presents this year either.

2015 promises to be an exciting and busy year. I saw on Instagram and Twitter people posting #onelittleword – a single word to focus on for the year ahead. (An idea started by someone called Ali Edwards.) I thought it was a great idea to do this, rather than specific New Year Resolutions so I’ve decided my one little word will be “GROW“. This year I would like to grow in many areas of my life, as a Christian and as a wife, grow the business, grow our home (we’d like to move house), grow as a knitter and quilter and maybe as a cook too. I was given a total of 5 cookery books for Christmas this year and so I’ve decided to try and cook a new recipe every week from one these books. Two of them are Christmas cookery books, but there are some recipes in them that aren’t specifically Christmassy!

cook booksMy husband has also set me a challenge to learn to crochet properly and crochet him a sheep from a book called Edward’s Menagerie.

Edward's Menagerie

They are gorgeous patterns, but I can only crochet a granny square really, and so I’ve got a lot to learn if I’m going to make a toy!

I must finish at least one quilt this year too and write up some of my own knitting and quilt patterns. Not much then eh?!

Leave a Reply

