Baby Knitting

One of my best friends is due to give birth to her first child in March, so last night at Knit ‘n’ Stitch (the new name for Knit ‘n Natter because we don’t just do knitting these days but sewing too) I decided to knit the baby a little tank top. We know that she’s going to have a little boy, which is very helpful.

I decided on a Rico Design knitting pattern – number 150, which has instructions for both a v-neck jumper and tank top. The bottom half is stocking stitch, but the top half is irish moss stitch which provides a bit more interest for both me as the knitter and for the wearer too!

Sadly it’s a discontinued pattern and we don’t have many copies left in the shop. They’ve discontinued lots of lovely baby patterns unfortunately. Don’t know why because they were selling well for us!

Although written using Rico’s Baby So Soft yarn, I picked Rico’s Baby Classic DK yarn instead as I had it mind that I wanted a beige colour, and they don’t do that in the Baby So Soft range.

I was pleased with the progress I made last night. Normally I don’t get much done at Knit ‘n’ Stitch as I’m busy serving customer and helping people. I have the feeling that this is going to be a quick knit which will give me a bit of a boost to my knitting mojo. My last project, the poncho,  was easy but took ages!!

Still haven’t blocked my poncho which I finished before Christmas. I will try to do it tonight because I want to start wearing it!

IMG_2059

Leave a Reply

