Dutch Pinwheels

I’ve been wanting to make Dutch Pinwheel blocks for a while, ever since I saw them on someone else’s blog. When the Ambleside fabric collection arrived at the shop, I thought it would be the perfect fabric to use.

So I took a charm pack plus a Bella Solids white charm pack and started making half square triangles with them.

Once trimmed to 3″ squares, it was just a matter of laying them out in the order I liked.

The first one I did I mixed the designs up. I didn’t think I wanted the colours to be too regimented. This was probably the best block I’ve ever made in terms of accuracy. All the points met… first time!!

My first Dutch pinwheel

The only problem though was once made, I wasn’t sure I liked the mixed up colours after all!

Today has been a bit miserable weather-wise, so I sat down and made another one and much prefer it because it’s not so random.

Dutch pinwheel block
I just don’t know if I can bring myself to undo the first one though because of how well it sewed up!

Leave a Reply

