Mistletoe Lane Moda Love Mini Quilt

I love Moda’s Candy Packs – they are mini charm packs containing 42 2.5″ squares.  I find it very hard to resist slipping one or two into my stash every time we get a new set in at the shop.

I’ve used them to make a couple of different cushions in the past – one using the Sunnyside collection and one using Aspen Frost. However I had a spare Mistletoe Lane mini charm pack which the designer, Anne Sutton of Bunny Hill Designs, gave me and I’ve been wondering what to do with it. I didn’t want to make another cushion.

Then I came across a mini quilt which Anne Sutton had made with a Mistletoe Lane mini charm, as part of the Moda Love Blog Tour. This tour saw all the Moda fabric designers make something using the same quilt pattern and using either a layer cake, charm pack or mini charm. I just loved how it looked, so as the weather forecast was awful for this weekend and my husband was out with the boys on Friday night, I borrowed a sewing machine from work (my own is in storage in preparation for our house move) and got started.

clear-view-quilting-foot

This is the basic pattern – some half square triangles mixed with whole squares and obviously the larger the precut, the larger the quilt.

moda-love-quilt-pattern

It’s been quite a while since I did some quilting and it was nice to be able to complete the whole thing in the weekend. I still can’t get my machine quilting as smooth as I’d like, but I guess I just need to practise more. I must also remember to alter the stitch length to 3.0 as I forgot at first and had to unpick a lot of tiny stitches!

sewing-binding

mistletoe-lane-mini-quilt

You download the free instruction sheets here on the Moda website.

I make another one with a Canyon mini charm which is more summery 🙂

Leave a Reply

