Bee-ing creative with hexies

I have to admit that I’ve never tried EPP (English Paper Piecing), so I thought I would give it a go this week, using 1″ hexagon papers and a mini charm pack which contains fabric squares that are 2.5″ square.

The fabric is from Moda’s new Bee Creative range (which is selling fast!) and perfectly suited for a hexagon/honeycomb effect I think.

The hexagons measure 1″ down each side and 2″ across the diameter, so a mini charm square fits quite nicely. I’ve also punched a hole in each paper as I read somewhere this was a good idea to help you pull the papers out afterwards.

I am using a Sewline fabric glue pen to hold the fabric onto the papers as I sew. I didn’t fancy tacking all the hexagons. It would take to long.

Photo 25-05-2016, 14 03 54

I’m thoroughly enjoying the hand stitching and think I will be turning this into a cushion of some sort. Watch this space to see what they become!

Leave a Reply

