FO: Evie Sweater

I’ve finally knitted this top in Sublime Evie yarn, which I started back in January when the yarn first arrived at the shop!

It started out well. I really like the yarn. It’s super soft and being an Aran weight it grew at a fair pace. I love the colour range and couldn’t resist this gorgeous coral colour.

img_2837

However I noticed that the picture in the book showed it as having quite a wide slashed neck and then we got a sample garment sent on loan to the shop for a few weeks, which I tried on and decided that the neckline was too wide and too high for my liking.

What to do..? I worked the neck shaping as written and with some pins holding the shoulders together tried it on. I wasn’t convinced I was going to like the end result. The project then got put on hold while I thought about it. After a while I picked it up and tried some different shaping but holding it up against myself, it didn’t look right. So I put it away again. A few weeks later, having looked at the necklines of some of the other patterns in the book I thought I would try one of them. I started doing one, then not having much time to work on it in recent weeks, due to our house move, I forgot where I got to and wasn’t convinced that it would make it any better anyway.

So a few days ago, the house move having been completed and boxes mostly unpacked, I decided I was going to finish it. I ripped out the alterations I’d tried making and went back to knitting it as the pattern is written. If I didn’t like wearing it, I would just put it on display in the shop to help sell the yarn and pattern book anyway.  I also decided I would knit the short sleeve version as well as I just wanted it finished.

Well, today I finished the sewing up during a quiet afternoon in the shop and would you believe it, when I tried it on, the neckline, the original neckline as written, is fine!  It’s not turned out as wide as the display garment we had on loan, and it’s not so high as to annoy me.  I added an extra pattern repeat to make it a bit longer. I have quite a long body and don’t like sweaters and tops that finish at my waist. I like them to finish below my waistline.

evie-sweater

So all in all I think it’s going to be a top that I wear quite a lot as we come into the latter stages of the summer.

I love the combination of shades in this yarn and I quite fancy knitting some sort of ripple baby blanket in a ball of each shade. I think it could look really lovely.

sublime-evie-shades.jpg

Leave a Reply

