Ingenue Sweater

I feel like my crafty mojo is returning. 🙂

It’s been quite a while since I’ve enjoyed knitting something. I’ve had several knitting projects on the go for some time, which I’ve not finished because I wasn’t enjoying it for one reason or another.

I have a couple of lacy patterns that I’m doing – a cardigan in Rowan Summerlite 4 Ply and a beaded scarf in Rowan Kidsilk Haze. They’ve stalled because of the concentration needed to follow the patterns. I can’t take them to Knit ‘n’ Stitch nights because I will go wrong and then in the evenings at home I’m too tired to concentrate on anything difficult.

I’ve even stalled on knitting a teddy bear jumper because I’m making up the pattern as I go to fit the teddy.

Then there was the sweater in Sublime’s Evie, which started out well but then I wasn’t happy that the neckline suited me, so I tried to alter it and I stalled on that for months until a couple of weeks ago, I decided to scrap the alterations, knit it as written and be done with it.

All the extra thinking involved in either following or making up the pattern was putting me off doing any knitting at all.

So I decided I needed to find a project that would inspire me again. Something that I can knit without thinking too much about it, but not so boring that it becomes tedious.

That project has been the Ingenue sweater which I started in July.

A few years ago I was given a copy of Custom Knits by Wendy Bernard but I’d never tried any of the patterns, even though several appealed.

This book is very much about giving you a pattern and also suggestions for making it suit your body shape better. Looking on Ravelry there were some lovely variations of the Ingenue sweater and so I thought I would try something similar.

My version has a lower ribbed neck and 3/4 length sleeves rather than bell shaped sleeves. I’m knitting it in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran and it will have some coral coloured stripes at the ends of the sleeves and below the waist.

It is also knitted top-down, which is great. I love being able to try it on as I go.

File 26-07-2016, 10 57 20.jpeg

I have a slight fear that I’ve made the neck ribbing too wide and as that’s the cast on edge, it won’t be easy to fix, but it is possible from what I’ve been reading. So I’ll wait until the end and see how it feels when it’s finished.

It’s nice to be enjoying knitting again though!

Leave a Reply

